Compassion and Empathy

  • These are two qualities I’ve had for as long as I can remember. These are something my mom taught all of us kids, whether she knows it or not.

My mother is disabled because of various back disorders and nerve conditions. She worked her hands to the bone until she really couldn’t handle it anymore, and then worked some more! Growing up, and now, we saw our mom struggle with her health. Some days she can’t move off the couch to take her medicine, so we’ve always been within a yell across the house to help. We never rolled our eyes or called her lazy, because obviously that’s our mom and she’s in pain! However that doesn’t mean others don’t say that. It’s tricky to understand. One day she will be okay enough to pick up sticks in the yard or run errands in town, but the next she’s down for the count. A fair amount of people don’t and WON’T take the time to understand this, or chronic pain in general.

  • Ever since we could help, we did.

Helped sort laundry, carry groceries, mow the yard, or just bend down to pick up a pen. This, slowly but surely, taught us that helping others and understanding what they were going through was good. Little did I know that as I got older, I would need people to be empathetic towards me. Now that I have Fibromyalgia, I am even more compassionate to others with chronic pain, especially my mom. I further understood what it was like to feel like a truck hit me, backed up, then ran over me again. Getting in the car is a chore. Walking around the store, standing to make dinner, lifting and pushing are all things I pay for, just as anyone with chronic pain does!

  • So next time you see someone struggling, ask if they need anything. Just the offer will mean more than you know! It doesn’t matter, old or young, just a helping hand is always appreciated. 
  • Don’t let others discourage you from helping others or just talking to them so you can understand their situation. My sister, Cheyenne, is in 4th grade and gets picked on because she wants to help everyone. Why do kids pick on her for that? They call her stupid  and are rude to her when she tries to help them. Thankfully my best friend’s brother is her age. I guarantee Cheyenne can get on his nerves a little 😉 but he is understanding. 

Image

 

  • In closing, I just want to say that being compassionate or empathetic is something that everyone appreciates. Just genuinely asking if someone is okay or needs anything, is a good feeling. Try it today! I bet you won’t be disappointed!
7 thoughts on “Compassion and Empathy

  1. These are really wonderful ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some nice things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  2. How your neck does look now? Is swelling went down?
    Have you had an ultrasound of your thyroid? How high are your TPO antibodies?

    • Unfortunately my neck is still swollen, TSH has jumped back to 9.4, and my antibodies a few months ago were over 300. I had an ultrasound last year and thankfully it showed no nodules.

      • No nodules are good!!!
        I remember there were several articles about experiments with selenium in order to reduce TPO antibodies. The results were somehow controversial, but about 1/3 of participants were able to reduce levels of antibodies (although I have not found numbers before/after). The trial daily dose was between 120 and 200 micrograms (normal daily dose is 65 micrograms). You may want to look further into this subject.
        Just curious what was the size of your thyroid from the ultrasound? Are both lobes the same size? FYI the most common size of thyroid in the US is 7.3 ml (cu cm) the upper limit per WHO (2003) is 18 ml (cu cm) for female aged 21 and older.
        I was impressed by your blog and would even recommend you to make video for YouTube!

      • Well I appreciate your kind words! Thank you! I have also read about selenium being effective with antibodies, I’m going to see what my Endo has to say about it next week. My Ultrasound read “right lobe: 6.0 x 2.1 x 1.9 cm” “left lobe: 4.8 x 1.7 x 1.4 cm” “isthmus 6 mm” “diffusely heterogenous without discrete nodule defined.”

  3. Thanks for the data.
    Based on the above measurements I did the volume calculation in cu cm using method proposed by Brunn et al. (1981):
    Volume = length x width x thickness x 0.479 (conversion factor)
    Where: length dimension
    Width = transverse dimension
    Thickness = sagittal dimension (source: http://ispub.com/IJRA/4/2/8932)
    Right lobe: 11.47
    Left lobe: 5.4
    Total: 16.94
    Note: the standard formula uses π /6 as correction factor (0.52)
    This is 2.3 times greater than the average, however still less than WHO limit
    The normal isthmus is 2.5 mm thick in average; yours is thicker and that probably makes it more prominent.
    “Diffusely heterogenous” means it is coarse-grained (like gravel compared to the sand).
    A good natural source of selenium is Brazilian nuts.
    All the best!!

Leave a Reply

