Appreciate It!

Originally posted April 26, 2012:

It’s quarter ’til 11 and I’ve been up since 5 for my trek to the Indianapolis airport to drop off Corey. I don’t have a lot to say because 1) I’m quite tired and 2) I always get a little upset on the “goodbye” days.

It kills me how there are so many people out there that whine and moan about little stuff like their boyfriend/fiance/husband picking their nose, not clipping their toenails, or leaving dirty dishes lay. To me, none of this matters because I know when any of the following are occurring, he’s home. Here with me. Wherever we are. Home. We’ve all heard the saying, “you don’t know what you have until it’s gone” and it’s truer than true. Everyone takes SOMETHING for granted. Whether that something be their parents, clean and running water, clothes on their back, or someone to lean on. One thing that I have never, and honestly will never, take for granted is time spent with my husband. Yeah, there are plenty of times I want to rip out his almost non-existent hair, but I still appreciate him for everything he does and all he has sacrificed to give us a better life. I am thankful each and every day that I have someone I know I can depend on to “be there” for me, even if he’s 20 hours away or in the other room. I am thankful for his understanding and caring nature towards me, knowing that I have a lot of health problems going on and can still console me in his own way (since guys aren’t particularly good with the whole “consoling a crying girl” thing). I am extremely grateful for his sense of humor, because no matter how upset or in pain I am, he can always pull a little something out of nowhere and have me in tears from laughing. I am thankful that he cares for others. If he has something cool, he’ll want to share it with you. If he has extra money, he’ll want to buy you food, just because. There’s been quite a few people help us out and we both like to give back. We’re both grateful for each other for different reasons, and try not to nitpick at little things that don’t matter.

If you’re having an argument, just stop. Stop and think: “Will this matter tomorrow? Next week? In a year?” and if the answer is ‘no’ then let it go. Value the time you have with someone because you aren’t promised tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

