Big Impacts

Originally posted May 7, 2012:

So this week has been kind of busy and crazy, considering I am moving at the end of the week/beginning of next week. Also, I have an Upper GI (scope with a camera and small knife for biopsies, inserted down your throat into your stomach and small intestine) in the morning and that’s been quite the run-around with the insurance. However, tonight’s blog will be about…

  • acceptance
  • support
  • small things that really impact your life (whether you notice it now or not)
  • I’ll start off with acceptance. I am and always have been, a people pleaser. I do things to make others happy and my happiness is always second, sometimes third. I always want to be accepted and I “just want  people like me”. I think this is honestly just one of my traits and I’m not going to be able to “grow out of” or change. I think I will always want the approval of someone, whether it be my family, friends, or complete strangers. In ways, that’s not so bad. Consider at a job: being accepted and approved of is a good thing! The more recognition you get for doing a good job and putting others first, the farther you move up. However, sometimes its detrimental.

Think about family and friends: there will ALWAYS be someone who doesn’t approve of how you do things, how you live your life, how you raise your children, how you cook your meals, etc. I understand that I shouldn’t take everything my family and friends say to heart, but on the inside I always remember the things that have been said. I shouldn’t need everyone’s “approval” and maybe I should just “grow up” and not listen to them, but that’s not my personality and not how I am. I’m always going to want to make others happy and I will do anything to be accepted in my choices. No, that’s probably not healthy. And honestly, if I did this with EVERY aspect of my life, I wouldn’t have

  1. dropped out of high school
  2. gotten married
  3. decided to move away from everything and everyone I have ever known

I suppose I don’t do this in every aspect, but trust me: I remember everything that has been said to me about “rushing into my marriage” “dropping out of school” and how it was “a terrible decision” and how I have disappointed family and friends. Yes. I totally understand I’m a grown woman and I shouldn’t listen to anyone as long as I’m happy, but I do! I care what everyone thinks! I care what my mother thinks, what my cousins think, what people from my graduating class think. I care! I know I’m getting quite repetitive, but seriously. To end this topic…. I care what everyone thinks. Big or small impact on my life, I care. I always will want to “fit in” and be accepted by people, and that’s something I will deal with. Yeah, I’ll probably pout every once and awhile, but it’s true. I feel the need to be accepted, even if it’s by a few people.

  •  Next! Support. I’m not even sure where to start. From a very young age I have been supported in many, if not all, the choices I have made. Around high school is where I saw less and less support. I understand that dropping out of high school may have not been the “right” choice, but it was for me. “What’s right for one person, isn’t right for everyone.” That is a quote my mom used every time I would get worked up and upset about my choices. I dropped out of high school because I had ongoing (and still do) medical problems that keep me from doing everyday activities and sitting at school (or anywhere basically) for long periods of time. I would just get so worked up about missing school because of being sick that I would get to school, sit in the parking lot, and cry. I couldn’t go inside, I WOULDN’T go inside, because I was so far behind and I couldn’t face my teachers and fellow students with work that “should” have been completed. [It’s a vicious cycle getting caught up after missing an extended amount of school-work, keep that in mind. A person can only handle so much.]

I wasn’t supported very much (besides my mother and a few close family members) about dropping out, but shortly after I got my GED (with honors- I didn’t even know that existed) and was soon engaged afterwords, to the man who is now my husband. Getting engaged and married was another one of the “acceptance” issues. To this day I don’t think my parents and grandparents  “approve” of me getting married, but not once did they decline helping me plan my wedding. They saw that I am an adult and their approval or disapproval wasn’t going to stop me. I will be forever grateful for their generosity and help throughout everything. My grandparents even opened up their home to let my husband live here while he was home on leave.From day one of dating, my (now) husband has supported me in everything. He watched me do homework, cry because I was so far behind, drop out of school, get my GED, and even with little steps along the way. This is why I believe our marriage is, and will continue to be, successful. He has supported me, and I have supported him. Before him, I hated (let’s say it again) HATED the Army. Yep. I hated it because I wasn’t educated and I just always thought war was NOT the way to fix anything, and all they did was kill kill kill and that is obviously getting us nowhere, and I always hated how it tore families apart, etc. HATED! IT! However, after getting myself educated, I understood why he was doing it and how it really was. It’s not AT ALL about killing and tearing apart families. Therefore, I have supported him in everything he has done, from losing weight for the Army, going into the Army, being in the Army, and other things such as how he handles every day situations. I support him and sometimes I don’t like the way he does things, but I know that if it were me, he would be there saying “okay, I’m here.” so I do the exact same. Even when my family and close friends haven’t supported me in some aspects of my life, lately, he has been there. Support is a BIG facet in any relationship, family, and friendship.

  • Last, but not least… The little things. Little things are whatever you see fit. My version of little things are: when my husband sneaks around Wal-Mart to buy me an Angry Birds car magnet, when my little sister tells me “Shelb… I really want you to be home for Christmas… That’s a time for family…”, when my best friend tells me I’m more of a sister to her than just a best friend, and when my grandma sheds a few tears when my grandpa mentions me moving away. These little things are the things I will look back on in 20 years and think “wow… Look at all the wonderful people who went out of their way to think of me…” and I will appreciate that more than the big things like: getting our first house, buying a new car, or even moving from state-to-state. So the next time your significant other/parent/friend/anyone does a little something for you or says a simple “I appreciate you” “I love you” or compliments you, remember that. Keep in mind that at that point in time, they are thinking about you. A little appreciation for the little things in life will go far.
Leave a Reply

